Finnish Alpine Award

Mika Samuli Mansikka, better known to his friends in Finland as Samu and the rest of us as Sammy, lost his life while descending from the summit of Annapurna on March 24th, 2015. Annapurna was Sammy's tenth 8,000-meter summit and his plan was to complete both Gasherbrum I and Broad Peak in Pakistan during the summer of 2015, leaving only Nanga Parbat and Shishapangma to go to complete all the fourteen 8,000-meter peaks. Sammy's first 8,000-meter peak was Cho Oyu in 2006 and he quickly added others, mostly solo, without oxygen and all without Sherpa support.

1. Cho Oyu (2006 & 2008)
2. Lhotse (2008)
3. Everest (2009)
4. Manaslu (2009)
5. Gasherbrum II (2010)
6. Dhaulagiri (2011)
7. Makalu (2013)
8. Kangchenjunga (2014)
9. K2 (2014)
10. Annapurna (2015)

Sammy also climbed Shishapangma in 2012 but was not 100% sure that he and his climbing partner were on the actual summit due to the bad weather conditions so he had planned to return to the peak in the future.

To honor this fine man and great climber, we have established the Finnish Alpine Award to keep his name and legacy alive for a future generation of alpinists. With the help of several generous sponsors from the Finnish outdoor world we will award financial grants each year to climbers with challenging climbing objectives, just like the ones Sammy used to like to undertake when not climbing the big ones. The selection process will be made by a small committee of climbers, including Veikka Gustafsson, the first and only Finnish climber to date to complete all the 8,000-meter peaks without using supplementary oxygen.

Further details on this alpinist award can be found at the following website:

Finnish Alpine Award

Photo credit: Phil Crampton - Sammy climbing on Cholatse.
Contact us: